DIY

Easy DIY Christmas Tree Decorations

Christmas is so near!!!

I took out my small Christmas tree and it seemed empty even with decorations on it. So, I wanted to make ornaments, which I was inspired by Pinterest posts.

Snow Globe Ornaments

diy3

First, I made this cute snow globe type of ornament inspired by…Snow Globe Ornaments DIY Tutorial – Darice. Mine is a bit different from the one I found on Pinterest.

diy1

You will need:

  1. A clear ornament ball (I used the one that opens in the middle to be able to easily stick the decorations on the inside.)
  2. Mini Christmas tree that will fit inside.
  3. Cute mini decorations [optional] (I used these adorable buttons!)
  4. Clear glitter
  5. Ribbon
  6. Glue (I used a glue gun.)
  7. Crazy glue [optional]

diy13

Steps:

  1. I chose the decoration buttons that will fit around the Christmas tree.
  2. I glued the top half part of the buttons onto the Christmas tree.
  3. Glued more buttons on the other side.
  4. !!! Make sure to NOT glue the bottom of the tree on the piece that overlaps the other side of the ball.
  5. I tilted the half side of the ball like a bowl, so that the glitter doesn’t fall everywhere. Then, carefully poured the glitter inside.
  6. I attached the other side of the ball. This is optional, but I super-glued the top and bottom where the two sides meets in the middle. This might prevent glitter from falling everywhere if the ball accidentally drops.
  7. Attached the ribbon on top

diy8

Ta-dah! It looks so much cuter in person and I think the buttons added even more character to it!

The next DIY is very quick and simple!

Flower Ornaments

diy9

I was inspired by…downtimeupcycle.blogspot.com.

I took few pieces of these dried flowers I had in my room and tied it together with a cute ribbon. Put it in the ornament bulb, tie a ribbon on the top, and you’re done!

It took literally about 2 minutes!

Felt Paper Ornaments

diy16

This one was inspired by…kaboodle.com.

diy18

Supplies:

  1. Red and White felt paper. (I purchased two red ones just in case I needed more, but ended up not needing two. It will depend on the size because the ones I made were small.)
  2. Thick thread
  3. Cotton balls
  4. Scissors
  5. Glue gun (I wanted to sew the fabric, but to make it easier, I chose to use the glue gun.)
  6. Chalk or pen
  7. Thread and needle [optional] (I attached the leftover buttons from the first project)

diy17

Steps as shown in the photos above:

  1. Fold the felt paper in half and draw the shapes.
  2. Cut them out.
  3. Take the mitten shaped red piece and glue the white rectangle on top.
  4. Then cut out a piece of thick thread and make an upside down “U”. Glue it onto the white felt.
  5. Glue the other side of the red mitten on top leaving a hole on the side to put the cotton inside. After putting in the cotton, glue the side shut, and the white rectangle piece on top.
  6. With the white heart shape, glue the thick thread onto it. Then glue the other side of the white heart onto it, leaving a hole on the side to put in the cotton as well.
  7. Put the cotton inside and glue it shut.
  8. Do the same with the red heart.
  9. Glue red rectangles onto the candy cane shaped white felt. Then, cut the sides of the red rectangles to fit the shape of the candy cane.
  10. Glue on the thick thread on one side. This time, I glued on the cotton to the candy cane on the same side. Then, glued the other side on top.
  11. Lastly, I sewed on the buttons onto them.

diy14

That’s all for my DIY ornaments! I hope you enjoyed! I only had white and sky blue ornament balls on my Christmas tree, so the red pieces makes it seem more alive! 🙂

What are some of your decorations on your Christmas tree???

cover

One thought on “Easy DIY Christmas Tree Decorations

Leave a Reply

