food

Vegan Blueberry Muffins

Today I made vegan blueberry muffins! And I wanted to share it on my blog!

I made these muffins with one of my best friends, Deedee, the other day and they were AMAZING! So I tried them again today by myself.

I’m not vegan, but my friend is! Even for non-vegans I would seriously recommend this recipe!!!

I got the recipe from this website!

So, let’s start!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Preheat the oven to 375F.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Ingredients:
1 cup of coconut milk or soy milk
1 teaspoon of lemon juice
2 cups of all-purpose flour
2 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
¼ teaspoon of baking soda
½ teaspoon of black salt or regular salt
½ cup + 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar
¼ cup + 2 tablespoons of coconut oil liquidated
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
zest of 1 lemon
1 ½ to 2 cups of fresh blueberries

Don’t be afraid that there are so many ingredients just yet! I shall guide you through the steps!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I began with the lemon zest because it will be easier to zest it before squeezing the lemon juice. SET IT ASIDE.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 2: In a small bowl, put 1 teaspoon of lemon juice into the bowl.
Step 3: Then, combine 1 cup of coconut or soy milk into the same bowl. I used coconut milk instead of soy milk.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 4: In a larger bowl, put 2 cups of all-purpose flour into the bowl.
Step 5: Put 2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder into the flour into the same large bowl.
Step 6: 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda into the same large bowl.
Step 7: And 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Set this bowl aside!

Then prepare another large bowl!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 8: ½ cup + 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar.
Step 9: ¼ cup + 2 tablespoons of coconut oil, liquidated, into the same bowl. I think it is better if you liquefy the coconut oil by microwaving it, unlike me, because it will make clumps in the batter.
Step 10: Insert in the lemon zest you made earlier.
Step 11: 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract!

So! You should have 3 bowls of ingredients right now. Now it’s time to combine everything!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 12: Add the bowl of coconut milk and lemon juice you made earlier into the bowl with the lemon zest.Take your dried ingredients bowl and combine it to the liquefied ingredients, GRADUALLY. Make sure not to over mix!

Step 13: Finally, add in the blueberries! 1 ½ to 2 cups of fresh blueberries, but I believe I put in about a cup of blueberries or a little bit more.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Get your baking cups ready!

Putting in the batter with a spoon is way easier than a ladle! I filled the batter a little more than half way of the baking cups.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Into the oven they go!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I put the timer to 20 minutes, but baked them for 3 more minutes. Ended up over baking them, so I would recommend baking them for only 20 minutes or until they look fully baked!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

AND HERE THERE ARE!

SO YUMMY! I’M SO HAPPY that my friend, Deedee, suggested me to bake these! 🙂

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

TIME TO DEVOUR THEM. NOMNOMNOM.

Thank you, Waka Flocka Flame for this amazing recipe! Haha.

I hope you can try this at home! In all honesty, they are really AMAZING!

If you get to try this recipe, let me know down in the comments! 🙂

 

For more photos, follow me on my Instagram! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Vegan Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

