food

Japan Crate!

Today my sister’s Japan Crate arrived!

She was kind enough for me to review the box! Well…it was actually her idea for me to blog about it.

Japan Crate is a subscription where you receive a box of Japanese snacks every beginning of the month.

The mini one is $12, original is $25, and the premium is $30 a month.

My sister ordered the premium one for me to review!

Let’s Begin! So excited!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

As you can already see, there are a lot of snacks with awesome packaging!

japancrate1

You receive a pamphlet that tells you more things about Japan Crate and the snacks you received!

(Photo on bottom left) This page explains the snacks in detail.

1. Caramel Corn

japancrate2

First snack! Love the red packaging! *hearts in eyes*

The taste has a hint of caramel, peanut butter, and corn flavor all mixed together. The taste kind of reminds me of the snack called Nutter Butter. The pamphlet describes it as a similar texture to Cheetos, but it is way softer than the puff Cheetos! I give this snack a 5 out of 5!

2. French Salad Potato Chip

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

For me, this potato chip had a seaweed taste to it, like a dried seaweed snack. For some reason it tasted a little bland to me. I give this snack a 2.5 out of 5!

3. Puku Puku Taichoco

japancrate6

The third snack is called the Puku Puku Taichoco because “puku puku” is the sound of a fish gulping. Taiyaki is a traditional fish shaped dessert, also known as 붕어빵 in Korean.

(Last photo) This is what it looks on the inside! This snack has a dry texture to it like the cone part of the one dollar ice cream cones from McDonald’s. The chocolate tastes like a hot cocoa or hot chocolate. I give this a 3 out of 5!

4. Sakusaku Panda Cookies

japancrate5

The packaging never disappoints! So adorable! Sakusaku is an onomatopoeia of a crunchy sound, such as walking on leaves, snow, and etc.

They have different facial expressions! This one just tastes like milk chocolate and the cookie part of a Pocky. It has a REALLY sweet after taste! I give this a 4 out of 5!

5. Big Mashuro

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This snack is literally just a big marshmallow! I don’t like marshmallows unless it is roasted in fire, so I might roast this one! (Future Jiyeon here: I roasted it and OMG IT WAS SO DELICIOUS. 5 out of 5.) I give this a 1 out of 5, since I don’t like regular marshmallows.

6.  Mochitto Kinako Mochi

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Kinako is a traditional soy bean flavor.

This snack tastes similar to the rice cakes in Korea called, 인절미 떡, which is similar to this kind of mochi, but has a thicker texture. This mochi tasted sweeter and softer than the Korean traditional soy bean rice cakes. I give this a 4.5 out of 5 because I love mochi or rice cakes, but this one was a little too sweet. Probably because I’m used to the Korean ones! (>_<)

7. King’s Lost Crown

japancrate7

I thought this was a regular cookie, but it has a chocolate filling on the inside! I’m not sure how to describe this one, but that it is a dry cookie on the outside and moist on the inside! I give this a 3 out of 5.

8. Big Bar Z: White Choco

japancrate8

This snack tastes like buttered popcorn…It has a crunchy texture, but then it melts in your mouth. I’m not sure why, but it has a cooling taste to it. It does taste like white chocolate at first, but then turns into a buttery popcorn taste. I give this a 5 out of 5! I really like this one!

9. ???

japancrate9

I’m not sure what this one is called because it wasn’t on the pamphlet.

I was really excited for this one! Thinking it will have a chewy texture like the Sour Punch Straws, but instead, it has a softer texture to it more than chewy. I give this a 1 out of 5 because it tastes like a strawberry flavored vitamin gummy.

10. Kajirittyo Cola Candy

japancrate10

Kajirittyo translates to “let’s gnaw” according to the pamphlet.

The texture tastes like this gum Japan Crate has provided in the last box. I love the flavor of Cola candy because it brings back so many memories from when I was little. I use to eat SO MANY cola flavored candies back then. I like that it is soft chewy and not hard. I give this a 5 out 5!

11. Sour Cider Gum

japancrate11

I’m not sure why, but this kind of tasted like a hint of chlorine or like a pool flavor. It is a little sour in the beginning, but loses its flavor very fast! I give this a 0 out of 5…Sorry…I did not enjoy this one. It has a pretty color though!

12. Pandaro Cookies

japancrate12

This is the cutest packaging EVER. IT’S A PANDA SLEEPING. Apparently, there are 5 other packagings for this one and I think I got the most adorable one!

This is indeed a butter cookie as explained in the pamphlet because it just tastes like a butter cookie. I give this a 4 out of 5! I love butter cookies!

11. Pachipachi Panic Cola

japancrate13

Pachipachi is another onomatopoeia that is for the crackling sounds.

The Poprocks are always fun and tastes like cola! But…the little white things tastes really bad…It tastes like toilet paper or the scent of it, since I never ate toilet paper before. I give this a 2 out of 5.

12. ???

Guess what this is!

japancrate14

It’s a cat in a cup! It’s so adorable! I give this one 6 out of 5!

13. Hachimitsu 100%

japancrate15

Hachimitsu is honey in Japanese and this candy is made from 100% honey like the name. The ingredient literally just says honey.

It tastes similar to the Burt’s Bees honey cough drops. I give this a 1.5 because I’m not a huge fan of honey. ^_^;

14. Nomuccho Jelly

japancrate16

The pamphlet says that the longer you stir and let it sit, the gooey-er it gets!

I haven’t tried this yet, but maybe I can try it in another blog post with some other DIY kits from Japan Crate that my sister hasn’t used!

15. Hajikete Grape Cider

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

ANDDDD THE FINAL ITEM! Hajikete means to burst.

This tastes like Hi-Chew candy in the grape flavor! But it tastes exactly like the Korean ice cream called 폴라포 or Pollapo! I think this soda will taste better when it’s cold. I give this a 4 out of 5.

So that was my Japan Crate snack review! These were my honest opinions on these snacks and I hope I wasn’t too harsh on them! I love Japanese food and I would LOVE to visit there someday! It is definitely on my bucket list! It was fun trying these snacks out and reviewing them. I feel bad for opening all of my sister’s snacks, but she loves me!

Thank you for reading my blog post about Japan Crate!

Here’s the link for the Japan Crate website if you want to check it out!

https://www.japancrate.com/

For more pictures of food follow me on my Instagram!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Japan Crate!

Leave a Reply

